Mish-mashed thoughts

These days many random things go about in my mind and before I can form a post out of one random thing, another one pops up. And hence these days making lists of random things makes more sense. Plus, it takes less time!

Something as simple as warm rye toast topped with sliced avocado and sprinkled with some S&P and lime juice can taste so heavenly is difficult to believe. But it really is. It is like a taste explosion in the mouth. I think I can eat it every day for every meal for the rest of my life. That good.

Back in college I was rarely hit upon by guys. Not that I minded it, because the few times I did get that attention, it made me nervous! I found out many years later from those same guys (who are now my close buddies) that they used to be scared to flirt with me and used to always get the impression that I would scoff at them or turn their attention down! It was an interesting piece of information!

In continuation with the above point, after what seemed like ages, I dressed up (which rarely happens) and went clubbing with few girl friends in SF. And in that span of 2 hours I got hit upon innumerable times! Now, I am not sure if this is common in clubs because I am not really a party animal. But it did feel kind of nice (and weird) to get all the attention from guys who were all so charming and pretty hot! In any case I had a fabulous time just dancing away to good music. I also ended up whistling at a desi guy who was dancing with us (he was dancing so well!) and he got so flattered that he twirled me around and taught me some nice steps! heh :D. Overall, it was a weekend well spent, doing stuff which I generally do not do – mani-pedis, shopping, clubbing and whistling at guys. I did miss the husband but knowing that he was having fun with his friends, made me feel better.

There are certain qualities that turn me off and make me repel people having those qualities as their primary one. But I have realized that it is equally important to spend time with such people as well. It kind of serves as a reminder to why I dislike those qualities and makes it that much improbable for me to have them.

Last night I again had a bad dream, which I do not remember. But I woke up yelling and crying in my sleep (and in the process shocking poor S) and S had to nudge me and pat me to put me back to sleep. I am finding all this dreams business highly frustrating and I wish I can root cause the reason why get these nightmares.

There is lot of pain and injustice in the world. And all of us, need to share it. That is what I like to think of when something unfortunate happens to me. But sometimes I cannot help wonder, why cannot this sharing of the bad be equal. I see so many good people around me dealt with crappy cards and shitty situations and the obvious cruel/mean people just living in their glass palaces, untouched by anything bad happening around them. I know there are things beyond good, bad, fair, unfair..but sometimes I wish that things should just fall in place for some of the good people that I know. I breaks me every time I think of the injustice they have to face. And there is nothing much I can do to change that.

What is with people putting up their babies on facebook contest where the baby with maximum likes gets voted the “cutest baby”! It is bad enough that schools and society in general teach you to be competitive from an early age, putting pressure on kids to be the best at everything. But seriously putting up babies in cute-ness competition?! It is so not cute.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Mish-mashed thoughts

  1. nightflier says:

    I think in college I looked upon ‘being hit upon’ by guys with total dread. Plus I think I wasnt even that open minded either. 😉 When in fact at times I quite enjoy it, at least nowadays.
    And I have been wondering the same about the last point in your post and glad that I have someone else to side with!
    I was discussing the ability to spend time with people who annoy me by their certain qualities with a friend the other day, and we both realized that my patience has decreased. Maybe something I can work on by thinking the way you do 🙂

  2. Phanom says:

    “I was raised in that generation of women can have it all, and I don’t think you can. I think some things fall off the table.”

  3. Ditto: on guys and not being hit upon coz they were scared of me.

    There are certain qualities that turn me off and make me repel people having those qualities as their primary one. But I have realized that it is equally important to spend time with such people as well. It kind of serves as a reminder to why I dislike those qualities and makes it that much improbable for me to have them. Interesting! lol

    Also agree with the baby contest. What’s wrong with people??!

  4. kum says:

    My niece’s name is Neha! Interesting blog…

    Global vegan fare

  5. arpan says:

    A general comment, not related to this blog:
    What percentage of Indian bloggers need a villain every day? Someone they can curse him/her every morning. So they can say, “how horrible this society is”. A condition called “pain body”.

    • I have not done research about the %, but since you are so interested, why dont you find out yourself?! And yes, I would appreciate comments on the blog to be about the blog or the post.

  6. Priya says:

    This is my first time on your blog and I just read this post:) I can relate to your mish mash, especially the FB photos (which even when they don’t compare, I find tiring) and the dreams. I will add one more random thought – it is spring time here and it rains suddenly, then abruptly stops – you never know when you will be dry or wet:) Random weather, but I like being caught by surprise rain.
    I enjoy reading your comments on IHM’s. Enjoy your break from blogging!

Leave a Reply

