Rant.

How much of “wanting” is too much “wanting”? All of us are constantly wanting something. Be it as small as wanting a chocolate chip cookie or something huge like wanting to have a house of your own. I just wonder, at what point do the wants stop? When one is truly happy where one is, with whatever one has? But then, even if I do achieve this state, is it constant? This state of fulfillment? And if not, then it was not true fulfillment to start with, right? For the past few years, I have been trying really hard to minimize my wants. Small and big ones. And I have really been successful in reducing the intensity of these wants. Like, I don’t have to have everything I want. Even as children we had really high importance of keeping our wants to minimum in our house. My parents were really strict when it came to spending money. There was never a shortage of money, but in spite of this, we were never encouraged heavy spending. Pocket money was a concept alien to us kids. I mean, I had the saying “Simple living High thinking” plastered on my wall in block letters (I still have it in my room back in India). As a kid, I did not necessarily agree to these strict, frugal ways we were subjected to, but I think that sort of thinking became second nature to me. Not crapping money, giving importance to investing and reducing the wants so that the importance of material things is reduced. Minimum is a relative term, but you get the point.

And yet, there are days when I feel like a small child, crying out in my head that I want a particular thing. And to add more agony to the existing agony, this want is not self created but it exists because I stupidly went ahead and compared my life with that of another being. Again, something I try very hard not to do. And to my credit I end up successful most times. Clearly, not this time. And because of all this, I am mad at myself. For comparing. For putting so much importance to that one material thing. Argh!! Let me go bury my head in some far corner till I recover this selfishness.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Rant.

  1. My Era says:

    You are doing pretty well dear, see yourself, you are admitting it that you have actually reduced your wants to a large limit. Have successfully conquered your urge to compare with others to a major extent.
    They are big achievements on their own.
    Trying to eliminate wants is both harmful and self-hurting. Unless you have wants, you won’t have goals and targets to work towards. So let those wants exist, just don’t fall in the trap of the ones that aren’t important and soon you’ll have just a few handful important wants left.
    I hope it made sense and you feel better soon 🙂
    Hugs!

    • hugs back, ME 🙂
      I am feeling much better already 🙂 Also, I do think goals and targets should not be associated with things and human beings. They should be associated with the ‘self’. Hence, the need to eliminate (rather reduce) the wants.
      PS: I am planning on trying your recent recipe over the weekend. (without the meat, that is). Will let you know how it turns out 🙂

  2. nightflier says:

    you know I was thinking about all this for the past couple of days, as in how the upbringing has somehow instilled to not spend much (despite having the money) but still be happy (this was after my upcoming splurge fest got cancelled because of no time to shop). so anyway, the thing is I have realized the upbringing cant be helped. We somehow rationalize our needs and wants. If I do get something I really want, I rationalize it as gratification and when I dont get it, I rationalize it as ‘do I really need it?’ 😀

  3. Anuya says:

    Oh God!! This sounds straight out my childhood and my present 🙂
    Though I am still some steps away from curbing my wants 😦 and hell yes I really need to stop comparing myself with others.

  4. Pepper says:

    Good luck to you. I am sure you will get where you want to 🙂

  5. You commented on my Rants and I come here to read your Rants. We all go through this up and downs rt? I hope you feel better by now..Sending some warm hugs on your way. Do you live in the US?

  6. I had a similar childhood as you! So I know what you mean. Right now I am trying to survive 3 months without shopping and hence learning to let do of “i want this now” feeling. One down … 2 more months to go.

    How’ve you been otherwise? Long time no post?

    ∞ © tanvii.com ∞

  7. P.S. My three months end on 15th June 🙂 4 more days to go!!!

  8. I hope you are feeling fine now , got over the rant .. when i started blogging all i did was RANT 🙂
    ranting is goood .. get it out of the system

Leave a Reply

