book recos

It is so hard to find positive stories around you. I mean, one reads about so many news items, stories, real life incidences which are so murky, cruel and unfair. And life can sometimes be like that. But then I feel these days all I see around me is negative. Where are the stories about loyalty, courage, fairness? Where are the real life heroes? I can look at the positivity and strength within me, but sometimes, I find nothing there as well. No real inspiration. And no faith that the evil will lose.

Any recommendations of books which tell stories about courage and beating the odds are most welcome. No self-help books please. The last thing I want to read is 7 ways to avoid suicidal thoughts.

PS: this depressing state of mind has got no connection to the much written about and feared about root canal. In fact, that got postponed and is scheduled for the coming saturday. (ah! small joys!!)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to book recos

  1. nightflier says:

    you can find all my reading lists here : http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/4760161-yamini πŸ˜€
    Sorry for making you do the hard work πŸ˜€
    if you are looking for some amazing story telling about courage and good values, you should read george r r martin’s a song of ice and fire series. only the 4th book is a drag. rest great!
    also check out stumbling on happiness by dan gilbert (you can check out his ted talk first to make sure that its not about self help :))
    I hope you find some amazing stories to get inspired from! πŸ™‚

    • WOW!!! I did not know about this goodreads website! Such an awesome way to keep a track of books and get good recos! Am signing up for it! πŸ˜€
      I had made a note to myself to read r r martin after I heard the soundtrack of game of the thrones (but then totally forgot about the note). Thanks for the recos, I will look them up πŸ™‚

  2. Anuya says:

    Hi Neha,

    I am new to your blog(stumbled upon through Tanvi’s blog :)) and really enjoyed reading all your posts. I am a loyal reader now πŸ™‚
    I too was looking for books on similar lines and thanks to your post I have hopefully found something πŸ™‚
    Keep up the good work πŸ™‚

    P.S: I too am a HP fanatic πŸ˜‰ and immensely enjoyed your post about it.

  3. Rahmath says:

    I feel the same way!
    Chicken soup series is also a great one for happy stories.
    You are my third sign.
    Will elaborate soon.

  4. When you find one, pls recommend it to me! πŸ™‚

    β™‘ from Β© tanvii.com

  5. Cool! Will do! πŸ™‚ Thanks! πŸ™‚

    P.S. email me pls. … so that when I wanna say something I don’t leave random comments on your posts! πŸ˜› [info@tanvii.com]

    β™‘ from Β© tanvii.com

  6. Nova says:

    Hellooo my name sake! πŸ™‚ Try ‘The immortals of Meluha’ if you havent πŸ™‚ I absolutely loved it and its a happy book πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

