The year-end always makes me emotional. Not that I start shedding tears at the drop of the hat, but it makes me nostalgic, it makes me analyse my life a bit more, it makes me feel old too. 😐
And after this long weekend for Christmas, I am back in office for 4 days after which there is another long weekend for new years. Happy times indeed! TheΒ Christmas weekend was spent in the company of dear friends, relaxing in a cozy little cabin in Tahoe. We did absolute zilch physical activity (well, apart from an hour of ice skating and getting up from the couch to fetch more wine). We ate (a lot), drank (a lot) and laughed (a lot). We also got ourselves a nice hour-long swedish massage for surviving 2011. It was a good weekend. πŸ™‚
2011 has been in general good to me. My surroundings and the people around me have been really good to me. There was never a short of good company this year, after moving to CA. However, this has been a year where I have introspected a lot. There were numerous times when I was fighting my inner demons, trying to find a cozy place I could snuggle my mind into. This was irrespective of being surrounded by much love and friendships. But I do think my mind has been restless because it was pretty relaxed this year and hence had the time to think about the bigger questions of life.
Job-wise it was a difficult year. Pangs of missing my old job and a struggle to make myself “get into the groove” with the new one has left me feeling a little less accomplished on this front.
Family-wise, it has been a comforting year. Mom and sister’s visit was greatly enjoyed, the trip to india was savored and one year of staying with the husband was survived. (by both).
As I am on the brink of the year getting over, I can actually feel the apprehension and the suspense in the start of the next. How will the next year turn out to be? Will something big happen? Will it be good or not-so-good? We can only wait and watch. And, in the process, Live!

Here’s to looking forward to a good year! 2012, please be kind πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to

  1. nightflier says:

    introspection always keeps me grounded and more me, so I like it πŸ™‚
    anyway, I hope 2012 is kinder, peaceful and filled with personal milestones for you!
    as for 2011 I am in a way glad that it will be over, I dont really get why so many great people had to choose this year to move on to another dimension!

  2. Gayatri says:

    2012 will be awesome. I can just feel it! You’re back and we’re heading to Madison to play in the snow πŸ™‚

  3. Mansi says:

    Happy New year, Neha!! πŸ™‚ Been out of the blogging loop for quite sometime now…so am a tad bit late in my wishes!

  4. Tanvi says:

    It will ALL be fine! πŸ™‚ Hope you are having a good year, so far.

    β™‘ from Β© tanvii.com

Leave a Reply

