Grumpy me.

I am in a super sulky mood. And after having exhausted/exceeded my sulking quota reserved for the husband, I have more sulking left to do.. and after all, what better place than the blog!!
The reason for sulking: Dropping mom and sis to the airport, as they travel back to India, after having spent the most awesome time here with us.

The intensity of their leaving actually struck me as I caught the last glimpse of their heads past security. All this while, I was pretty normal, making sure they had all their luggage and documents, cracking jokes and in general listening to mom as she listed the do’s and dont’s for me. I had instructed mom to wave back at me when she was past security, so that I would know that they were past security alright. I felt increasingly down as I stood there, tracking the top of their heads as they moved forward in the security line (which was long!! I think the whole world was traveling today). And when my mom waved to me past security booth, it actually struck me. I didnt know when I would see them again. Didn’t know when we three would be together, at one place again. Oh, I hate saying goodbye to them 😦 . I know, it will be back to the two of us again, in our usual grind, and I will be fine … But I cant stop sulking for now 😦 .

Our last day together was very interesting, with mom’s constant instructions on how to manage (especially the cooking part) here, and my instructions on how not to do too much work back at home in India. And after much argument, we made a deal that she will reduce her work, if I try sincerely to create interest in basic cooking. And she entrusted S with the job of giving her feedback for my culinary skills! Howmuchever I feel I have improved in cooking over the past 4 years of staying away from mom, she was pretty scandalized (to put it mildly) to see the way we managed our kitchen. The first shock came when I served her maggi in coffee cup (because we dont have bowls), and the very next day, she took me shopping and got me some bowls and plates :D. I do agree life is simpler with bowls in the kitchen, but I guess mom was needed for this catastrophic change ;). Another thing which she did was labeled all the spices and dals, to make my life easier. And plus, she taught me some basic recipes as well. How well I execute them without her around, is still a
mystery. But it felt just so awesome, to let mom take over the kitchen!

Other than this we had a blast showing them around, introducing them to our friends and in general having good times together πŸ™‚

But now, all I am left with is her long list of instructions for me: (she obviously feels S is perfect, and has no instructions for him :D)
– *never* drive over 70 mph.
– Do not drink and drive. I don’t know from where she got this, because I rarely drink and never drink and drive.
– Cook with interest. She was mighty impressed with S’s culinary skills and made blatant comparisons between us, and told me to mend my ways.
– Clean the kitchen floor at least once every 2 days (if doing everyday is too much work)
– clean the patio once a week.
– Do not throw clothes on the floor.
– Never fight with S. I think we fought twice in the 2 month span she was here, and she was disgusted at the way I yelled and sulked. I told her I wont promise about not-fighting, but will definitely not yell in future πŸ˜‰
– reduce eating out.
– eat proper breakfast. Toast/cereals do not qualify as breakfast.
– get rid of torn t shirts/pants and buy some decent clothes. Probably the only mom who tells her daughter to go and shop some more :). I might take this advice very very seriously.

Oh, I am going to miss them so 😦

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Grumpy me.

  1. Gayatri says:

    It’s always hard when family members return to India 😦 … I sulk for a month or so! And it’s quite cool how we all get such similar advice from our moms!

    Nice blog πŸ™‚ I noticed we both read GreatBong, One Hot Stove and Tanvi! That is a killer combination!

  2. Pepper says:

    You’ve no idea how much I could relate to this post. The painful departure, the sulking, the afterthoughts of seeing them again and the advice given by mom. Every bit. My mom thought we didn’t exactly live a civilised life when she saw we ate yogurt in a coffee cup, and that Mint and I shared food from the same plate because we wanted to reduce our washing effort (Even if it meant rinsing it and putting it in the dishwasher). She was appalled that we didn’t have “tongs” in the kitchen, or hand napkins. And that we put the entire cooker with the leftover food in it in the fridge instead of transferring it in a small utensil and then putting it away. And told us that we should eat out less and that cereal and toast was not really breakfast. I could go on, but I should stop. Sigh. I so miss mom now.

    PS * The legal limit is 65 mph. You drive above 70? I’ll inform the DMV πŸ˜›

  3. chandni says:

    SOunds like a dream really…..moms are the best πŸ™‚

  4. Umm, so I have bowls in my kitchen and I label all my jars and wipe my kitchen floor everyday.. Call me a freak but man wont your mom love me.. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

