Harry and my journey

You know, I have not written anything in this space for a long time.. because I had nothing to write about. There was nothing spectacular happening in my life.. I was very much content in leading an ordinary life.. with all my family members around me (mom and sis are here, yay!!). And then, one Saturday night, Harry potter-the movie happened!

Ok, I re-read what I just wrote and realized I should leave story-telling and building up of climax to JKR. She does it the best. And she has been doing it for so many years.. ever since she started writing that magical story of hers. A story I grew up reading, believing and savoring. I have been a true harry potter fanatic, devotee (or whatever else you might want to call me), ever since I read the first harry potter book about 11 years back. (It was published 1-2 years before I read it). And that was my advent into the fantasy – books world. Harry Potter books gave the young teenager in me so much to look forward to. I still remember, I used to behave myself, do all my homework and eat whatever mom gave me, just so that I would get my coveted copy as soon as it released. Yes, my parents realized quite early that they had finally found that one thing they could blackmail me with..to make me behave. But to their credit, they never once deprived me of the book, and I remember I used to go buy it (overcoming all odds like rains, hot weather, lack of transportation) myself and sit and devour it through the night. HP are few of those books for which I have readily sacrificed my beloved sleep for. And this used to repeat for each and every book, right till the end of the series. When the last book was released, I was in US, and 3 months behind procuring the book (due to my thesis. My advisor was not as compliant as my parents, in letting me read it). When I was halfway into reading the final book, I had got this thought that once I finished reading it, some part of me would die. (I am being melodramatic, but it really is true) And in some strange way I didn’t want the book to end. I didn’t want Voldemort to die. I didn’t want Harry toΒ  emerge victorious. And when the book ended, I cried. I actually weeped. More because the story ended than anything else.

I now wonder, how is it that some books on magic and curses and spells and weird creatures were able to hold my attention so raptly for so many years. And I guess the main reason I feel is, those books yank you off to another world, so effortlessly..A world which is so different than the one we live in, and yet..so believable.Β  Those books kind of portray a larger than life picture of all traits like heroism, sacrifice, friendship, love, dreams, power, malice and betrayal and innocence. And to top that off, the books have some amazing concepts like soul sucking demetors, Horcruxes, the powerful deathly hallows and some real complicated magic, that kept even the cynical, logical side of mine satisfied and which teamed up with the child in me to devour the books. It made me believe (again) that good prevails over the evil, that friendships do survive hardships, that it is the evil due to which the hero becomes the hero (s)he is and most importantly, just because it all is happening in our head, does not mean it is not real. (A line Dumbledore says)

Needless to say, I was really skeptical about the movies right from the start, and felt that they did not do justice to the books. But now I realized, when I watched the last movie (in 2D, thank goodness ;)), that doing justice to the books is almost impossible. Just because the books have created such special place in my heart (and in hearts of many others), and they have such an aura about them, that breaking into that aura is a heck of a task for the directors. But inspite of this, I enjoyed the movie last Saturday, and felt it was really an honest effort to bring on screen the epic that the series has turned out to be.

There were moments when I cheered: When Mrs Weasley killed off Bellatrix (such an amazing piece of acting by Helena Bonham Carter .. I almost hate her more than Voldemort). When Neville got his place in the limelight, which was long overdue.. When he valiantly sliced off Nagini, and moments later Harry rolled over from Hagrid’s arms to fight Voldemort.

And in other few moments I was crying profusely (much to the amusement of my friends with whom I watched the movie).. When Snape died in a brutal way, when they showed the dead bodies of Tonk and Lupin together, when Snape held the dead body of Lily close to him (There is something so poignant in one sided true love..Snape by the way, remains one of my most loved characters.. You hate him one moment, and the next instant you fall in love with the character.. You curse him when he makes Harry’s life miserable but cry for him and his un-fulfilled loved for Lily) And last but not the least, when Harry threw away the most powerful wand away, after breaking it into two. That was such a magical moment, such reinforcement of my belief in the goodness that is in Harry.

So all in all, I was impressed with the movie (because I have learnt by now, not to expect a 100% honesty to the book πŸ˜‰ ). But I seriously wish they had not showed the 19 years later part in the movie. I mean, watching harry, Draco and others with beards n all was a bit too distressing. Though, it was not bad reading about it in book. But yes, it was a fitting end to an awesome series (both the book version and the movie version). And I also hope JKR does not continue this series into the lives of their children. I would like to remember this series, in its perfect form, as it is now. (Though, I will read whatever JKR writes ;)).

 

This entry was posted in life. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Harry and my journey

  1. Snita says:

    Nehas!!!! nice one! The eagerness to get the book in hand and the desperate attempts to finish it before people around u started discussing it.. was all a part of it…:) This will prolly be one of the books I will always have in collection !!! πŸ™‚ All in all, the last part of the movie was awesomely made!!!!

    • agree πŸ™‚ . I also forgot to mention my need to be overly protective of the books. I have quarreled with some of my friends, who without reading have criticized the books 😐 .
      -neha

  2. nightflier says:

    Super post πŸ™‚ I can relate with each and every thing you said! just that living in the hostel made it even more difficult to get hold of the books..also there would be queues to read the books..so time was an added pressure πŸ˜€
    And yes! I am overly protective about them too..the other day one of brother’s friend (who is 30) said how was the children’s movie..and I gave him a good bashing πŸ˜›
    all said and done..the books and people in it will always be special πŸ™‚
    btw have you read tales of beedle the bard ? Its super amazing too!!

    • I am glad you gave him the bashing πŸ˜€
      Beedle the bard, is it? Have not read it. Will read it soon, though.. I am currently re-reading all of Tolkien πŸ™‚

      • nightflier says:

        I bought (made brother buy it for me, as I was done with my quota of book shopping for this month :D) the Hobbit yesterday!!
        Once I finish the 4 books I am reading, I will start it. yay!

      • Yamini: hobbit is awesome too! but not as dark as LOTR itself… More of children bedtime stories.. πŸ™‚
        but me likes!!

  3. Snita says:

    Yamini. thanks for the suggestion… found out about the boook.. seems like a must read for Harry Potter fans!!! πŸ™‚

  4. Tanvi says:

    I am probably the only person in the world who hasn’t read HP books. Yes! Not even one … ‘coz back then wizards and all were not my thing and by the time I caught up it was way to late … and plus they are so fat. ThoughI have read many other fat books (Ayn Rand’s and Shantaram, etc.) I just didn’t get around these … so I have no clue what you are talking abt πŸ˜› Sowwiiee!

    β™‘ from Β© tanvii.com

    • neha says:

      you are not the only person who has not read HP, tanvi! All my attempts to make my husband read (and like) the books have gone waste 😦

  5. Pepper says:

    I am not too much into HP.. but I absolutely loved the passion with which you’ve written this.. It shows your love for the series πŸ™‚

  6. Nice one! I felt almost the exact same way πŸ™‚ Huge potter fan πŸ™‚ You have a lovely blog – I’m going to become a regular reader! πŸ™‚

  7. Nice one! I felt almost the exact same way Huge potter fan You have a lovely blog – I’m going to become a regular reader!

Leave a comment